Monday, December 08, 2008

Welcome to 

Tri-County Motor Speedway

Hudson, North Carolina


Located in Western North Carolina, Tri-County Motor Speedway is a 4/10 mile banked asphalt track racing weekly on Friday night as it has for most of it's existence.  A NASCAR Home Track facility, TCMS features Late Models as it's premier division and has been a proving ground for many of today's rising talents.

Come check out the action at TCMS, 5 minutes from I-40 in Hudson, NC.



Like us on our 

Facebook Page


The Official Host Hotel of TCMS

Quality Inn in Hickory, North Carolina is the official hotel of Tri-County Motor Speedway. The hotel is next to the Hickory Regional Airport on Highway 321. The drive time to Tri-County Motor Speedway is 20 minutes.  Please contact Wendi Boyd (Director of Sales) at (828)431-2100 for the special Tri-County Motor Speedway rate.



Week 3 Filled With Lots of Action at Tri-County Motor Speedway


Hudson, North Carolina (April 25, 2008) - McDowell County night at the races was action packed with the third race of the NASCAR Whelen All American Series Presented by CJ'S Convenience Store's, North Pointe Builders, Universal Motors and Appalachian Stone.


In the Late Model Stock Car race, Kevin Liecht took the pole with a 16.227 but had to fall to fourth after the dice roll so that put Travis Swaim on the pole. Right off the bat, Andy Loden took his car to the front and led to the checkers with a green to checkers race. Battling was constant between the second to sixth place cars. Matt DiBenedetto, last weeks winner, finished second this week with Travis Swaim in third and Kevin Liecht and Matt McCall rounding out the top 5.


The Limited Late Models fought it out for 30 laps with battling throughout the field. Dexter Canipe Jr. Started on the pole but rolled a six on the dice roll so Mike Eplee Started up front. But it didn't take long for Dexter Canipe Jr. to find his way up front and lead the rest of the race over Bill Cassavaugh, Jason Crouse and Mike Eplee and Joe Chafin rounding out the top 5.


The Late Model Super Trucks had Dexter Canipe Jr. taking the win after taking the lead on lap 13 and never looking back. Ben Ebeling beat Kerry Lawrence to the line by a truck length. Jimmy Wallace and Scott Whittaker rounded out the top 5.


The Pepsi Super Stocks had Scott Franklin take the win after the five lap shoot out for the checkers with Kevin Townsend taking second and Steve Parris, Brian Stahl and Jason Franklin rounding out the top five.


The Baton Tire Street Stocks had an action packed event with 13 cars taking the green flag.

Terrence Tucker led the field down to the green flag. At the start Terrance Tucker got loose and lost the lead to Chris Townsend who led all the way to the checkers. Kevin Eby fought his way up to second after starting fifth. David Smith finished third and the 42 of Terrance Tucker and Jonathon Smith rounded out the top 5.


The Red Baron Race Parts Hobby Stock Division had Wayne Harrington take the checkers with Brad Ballard finishing second and Jason Garwood in third, Stephen Clippard in fourth and Estus White rounding out the top 5.


For more information call the TCMS office at (828)-726-6600 or visit



Tri-County Motor Speedway Race Results

Friday, April 25, 2008

Late Model Stock


1.   29   Andy Loden

2.   44   Matt DiBenedetto

3.   21   Travis Swaim

4.   2     Kevin Liecht

5.   87   Matt McCall

6.   60   R.A. Brown

7.   7    Josh Goble

8.   11  Bruce Green

9.   25  Sam Watts

10. 55  Lee Tissot

11. 57  Grant Wimbish

12. 21  Monty Cox

13. 59  Nick Pieter De Bruijn

14. 53  Stan Robinson

15. 29A Tyler Church

16. 53x Thomas Holbert


Limited Late Model Stock


1.   31   Dexter Canipe Jr

2.   21   Bill Cassavaugh

3.   28   Jason Crouse

4.   86   Mike Eplee

5.   17   Joe Chafin

6.   4     Brandon Cox

7.   7     Tim Wilson

8.   15    Nathan Dellinger

9.   37    Chris Phipps


Pepsi Super Stock


1.   7   Scott Franklin

2.   9   Kevin Townsend

3.   82 Steve Parris

4.   41 Brian Stahl

5.   12 Jason Franklin

6.   11 Tom McCurry


Super Trucks


1.   6    Dexter Canipe Jr

2.   94  Ben Ebeling

3.   03  Kerry Lawrence

4.   21  Jimmy Wallace

5.   09  Scott Whittaker

6.   23  Danny Henning

7.   4    Jonathan Fleming


Baton Tire Street Stock


1.   21   Chris Townsend

2.   03   Kevin Eby

3.   40   David Smith

4.   42   Terrance Tucker

5.   99   Jonathan Smith

6.   33   Gary Deitz

7.   88   Josh Burchette

8.   7     Chris Kidd

9.   10   Kody Townsend

10.  24  Mike Hatton

11.  05  Jonathan Goodwin

12.  25  Jeremy Pelfrey

13.  64  Marshall Sutton


Red Baron Race Parts Hobby Stock


1.   3    Wayne Harrington

2.   5    Brad Ballard

3.   46  Jason Garwood

4.   5    Stephen Clippard

5.   6    Estus White

6.   9    Scott Bumgarner

7.   11   Jimmy Whisnant

8.   9pm Brad Pressley

9.   55   Carroll McKinney





Current Point Standings



Attention Racers:

Effective Immediately

Tri-County Motor Speedway is available for testing and/or special events.

Interested parties or series please contact Mickey @ 704.929.6666  


Tri-County Motor Speedway

4405 Hickory Nut Ridge Road

Hudson, North Carolina 28638

Office:  828-726-6600

Fax:  828-726-0800