Monday, December 08, 2008

Welcome to 

Tri-County Motor Speedway

Hudson, North Carolina


Located in Western North Carolina, Tri-County Motor Speedway is a 4/10 mile banked asphalt track racing weekly on Friday night as it has for most of it's existence.  A NASCAR Home Track facility, TCMS features Late Models as it's premier division and has been a proving ground for many of today's rising talents.

Come check out the action at TCMS, 5 minutes from I-40 in Hudson, NC.



Like us on our 

Facebook Page


The Official Host Hotel of TCMS

Quality Inn in Hickory, North Carolina is the official hotel of Tri-County Motor Speedway. The hotel is next to the Hickory Regional Airport on Highway 321. The drive time to Tri-County Motor Speedway is 20 minutes.  Please contact Wendi Boyd (Director of Sales) at (828)431-2100 for the special Tri-County Motor Speedway rate.



Cassavaugh Continues His Winning Ways at Tri-County

Hudson, North Carolina (July 6, 2007) - Bill Cassavaugh is used to holding off hard-charging competitors, but it was a young lady that made him earn his win Friday night at Tri-County Motor Speedway. Alli Owens made Cassavaugh work for his third win of the year as he won the Fairvalue 75 Limited Late Model race during Fairvalue Night at TCMS. David Courrier collected the final podium finish with Darrell Wallace and Josh Wright completing the top five.


The race was halted by almost an hour by a red flag given to the field after a two-car accident on the opening lap that collected the cars of Kaleb Pressley and John Reynolds. Another car missed a shift on the start of the race and created an a log-jam of cars and the contact sent Pressley into the inside retaining wall. Reynolds hit Pressley and ended up beneath Pressleys car. Pressley was transported to a local hospital and later released late Friday night. Tyler Church followed in sixth with Eric Evans, Jason Cochran, Bryan Pruett and Blake Haughland completing the top-10.


Scott Franklin took unofficial top honors in the Pepsi Super Stock race with Kevin Townsend and Steve Parris completing the top-three. TCMS inspected tires after the race and has collected some to be analyzed for chemical agents. An official results list will be posted later in the week after testing has been completed. Due to a limited amount of time because of a curfew of 11:30 p.m. the track must observe, the Street Stock race was limited to just six laps with Kevin Hensley declared the winner. Kevin Eby finished second with Jonathan Smith third and Ernie Harris and Greg Grindstaff finishing fourth and fifth, respectively.


Due to the race being shortened TCMS general manager Tim Southers has announced an immediate rule change concerning start time of races in reflection to the curfew. Last night I decided to start the Street Stock race at 11:24 p.m., said Southers. In making my decision I anticipated we could get at least half of the scheduled 25 laps completed. There were two caution flags given to the field within the first four laps and it forced us to call the race at 11:30 p.m. per the guidelines set forth by Caldwell County. As a result, TCMS will not start a race after 11:15 p.m. for the remainder of the year. Southers also added that TCMS owners, Tony and Kim Casola, have allowed Southers to schedule a special event for the Street Stocks next Friday, July 13 that will offer the Street Stock competitors a 35-lap event with additional monies added to their usual payoff. I appreciate Mr. Casola allowing me to do something to show our appreciation to the Street Stock competitors, Southers added. I want to thank the drivers for their understanding and hopefully by changing our guidelines on starting a race in the future, we will not have has this situation occur in the future. My first concern is the safety of all of our

drivers and we took our time and allowed the medical personnel all the time they needed to treat Pressley during the accident in the limited race. That is the only reason we ran up against the curfew.


Doug Setzer won the Mini Stock race with Tony McKinney and Scott Whittington third with Rob Lewis fourth and Brad Nelson fifth. 


Chad Miller won the Baton Tire Fast & Furious race with Nikki Long second and Preston Hall third while Jeff Banks won the Tri-County Minis feature with Billy Hyden second and Bethany Bagwell third.


Doug Hoffman won the Vintage Cars race in their first of three scheduled visits to the track this season.


Next week the Late Models return to action with a 75-lap feature to headline the schedule of action on July 13 with the return of the always exciting Road Rage cars to cap off the night. For more information, please contact TCMS at 828-726-6600.


Tri-Coun ty Motor Speedway Race Results

Friday, July 6, 2007

Limited Late Models

1. Bill Cassavaugh

2. Alli Owens

3. David Courrier

4. Darrell Wallace

5. Josh Wright

6. Tyler Church

7. Eric Evans

8. Jason Cochran

9. Bryan Pruett

10. Blake Haughland

11. Monty Cox

12. Ricky Delerey

13. Mario Hernandez

14. Ricky Bryant

15. John Reynolds

16. Brandon Cox

17. Jason Crouse

18. Caleb Pressley


PEPSI Super Stocks

1. Scott Franklin

2. Kevin Townsend

3. Steve Parris

4. Jason Franklin

5. Brian Stahl

6. Shawn Day

7. Keith Hart

8. Brandon Day

9. Jessica Barlow

10. Bryant Wallace

11. Donnie Carlton

Street Stocks

1. Kevin Hensley

2. Kevin Eby

3. Jonathan Smith

4. Ernie Harris

5. Greg Grindstaff

6. Donnie Buckner

7. Scott Metcalf

8. David Smith

9. Chris Kidd

10. Marshall Sutton

11. Chris Townsend

12. Ronnie Buckner

13. Josh Burchette

Baton Tire Fast & Furious

1. Chad Miller

2. Nikki Long

3. Preston Hall

4. Kenny Watts

5. Scott Bumgarner

6. Danny Wyatt

Mini Stock

1. Doug Setzer

2. Tony McKinney

3. Scott Whittington

4. Rob Lewis

5. Brad Nelson

6. Jonathan Warlick

7. Jerry Linebarger

Tri-County Minis

1. Jeff Banks

2. Billy Hyden

3. Bethany Bagwell

4. Paul Buford

5. Tim McRae

6. Todd Ledbetter

7. Travis Cook

8. Tony Taylor


Vintage Cars

1. Doug Hoffman

2. Wayne Hearn

3. Ed Ritchey

4. Rodney Poston




Current Point Standings



Attention Racers:

Effective Immediately

Tri-County Motor Speedway is available for testing and/or special events.

Interested parties or series please contact Mickey @ 704.929.6666  


Tri-County Motor Speedway

4405 Hickory Nut Ridge Road

Hudson, North Carolina 28638

Office:  828-726-6600

Fax:  828-726-0800