Monday, December 08, 2008

Welcome to 

Tri-County Motor Speedway

Hudson, North Carolina


Located in Western North Carolina, Tri-County Motor Speedway is a 4/10 mile banked asphalt track racing weekly on Friday night as it has for most of it's existence.  A NASCAR Home Track facility, TCMS features Late Models as it's premier division and has been a proving ground for many of today's rising talents.

Come check out the action at TCMS, 5 minutes from I-40 in Hudson, NC.



Like us on our 

Facebook Page


The Official Host Hotel of TCMS

Quality Inn in Hickory, North Carolina is the official hotel of Tri-County Motor Speedway. The hotel is next to the Hickory Regional Airport on Highway 321. The drive time to Tri-County Motor Speedway is 20 minutes.  Please contact Wendi Boyd (Director of Sales) at (828)431-2100 for the special Tri-County Motor Speedway rate.



Tissott Back in Victory Lane at TCMS

Hudson, North Carolina (September 15, 2006) - Friday night’s racing action at Tri-County Motor Speedway was far from boring, as Lee Tissott took the lead on lap 42 from Rock Harris after having serious battles to get to the front in the Late Model Stock feature.


At the drop of the green, drivers were cautious and Harris took the lead.  Matt Leicht was second, Jimmy Doyle third and Bruce Green fourth, followed by Tissott.


In less than five Laps, Tissott was by Green, then went to work on Doyle.  The two battled for about ten laps before Tissott had Doyle in his rearview mirror. Leciht was Tissott’s next target and on lap 36, he made the pass.  By this time, the leaders were working lapped traffic and Tissott had his work cut out for him as he had Harris set in his sites. By lap 43, Tisott went for the lead and was able to get by, sending Harris back to second.  Ricky Bryant was on the move however, and by lap 63 of the 75 lap event, was on the rear bumper of Harris and making a challenge.  Tissott added a little distance to his lead as the pair waged battle for second. With five laps to go, Bryant made his move to take second.  When the checkered flag fell, Tissott was first to cross the line, while Bryant was second, Harris third, Doyle fourth, Eddy Cox fifth and Leicht was sixth.  Jason Grant, Tres Wilson and Green completed the top ten.


Monty Cox won the Pepsi Super Stock Challenge and took the points lead from Scott Franklin.  The pair was tied for the lead going into the race.  Ricky Brown was able to grab the lead at the drop of the green. He had to contend with a strong challenge by Steve Parris, but at the same time, Parris was trying to hold off Cox.  On lap eight, Cox took second.  On lap 12 Brown spun, giving Cox the lead and Davey Smart, who had one of his best races of the season, was second. Parris had fallen to third. Parris had problems and Kaleb Pressley moved up to take third and Brown had worked his way back to fourth.  The was more action, as Scott Franklin was working his way through the field and by the end of the 30-lap event, had made his way to fourth. With Cox taking his tenth win of the season, Davey Smart posted an impressive second.  Pressley was third, Franklin fourth and Brown was fifth.


In the Street Stock feature Kevin Eby grabbed the lead early, but had to contend with Marshall Sutton, Waylon Flynn and Donnie Buckner.


Buckner was putting cars away quickly and was up to challenge Eby by lap 10, and took the lead.  He was able to go the rest of the distance, but was unable to pass post-race inspection and was disqualified.  Eby took home the trophy and the money and was determined to be the winner.  Flynn was second, Ernie Harris third, Josh Burchette fourth and Gary Ledbetter was fifth.


Doug Setzer picked up his fourth S&S Tires and Chrome Mini Stock win in a row after having a difficult start this season.  A.J. Sanders was second, Jim Mayberry third, Archie Sanders fourth and Tyler Church was fifth.


Tony McKinney was another fourth time winner, but the interesting part is it was only his fourth race in the Baton Tire Fast and Furious front wheel drive division.


Jason Garwood was second, Nikki Long third, Stpehen Clippard fourth and Brandon Day was fifth.


Tyler Baird picked up win number two in his first season in the Tri County Minis.  The 14 year-old held off Billy Byden, a rookie, for the win while Hyden was second, Matt Sizemore third, Tim McRae fourth and Bethany Bagwell completed the top five.


The East Coast Flathead Fords made a visit to the speedway and Rick Newsome took the win, while James Roger was the winner in the Sportsman division.


Next Friday Night will be CarsPlus Fan Appreciation Night with a $5 admission for all fans and the 100 lap Pepsi Challenge Late Model Stock event. This will also be the final points race of the season and several special activities are planned to please the fans.  Make plans to be there for this season ending event.



Official Results September 15, 2006 Tri-County Motor Speedway 

Late Model Stock
  1. 55    Lee Tissott
  2.   9    Ricky Bryant
  3.   5    Rock Harris
  4. 71   Jimmy Doyle
  5.   4    Eddy Cox
  6.   2   Matt Leicht
  7.   8   Jason Grant
  8. 42   Tres Wilson
  9. 11   Bruce Green
  10.   8   Ed Surrett
  11. 41   Darius Hall
  12.   3   Danny Willard
  13. 12   Dennis Gallion
  14. 27   John Graham
  15.   6   Jonathon Fleming


Pepsi Super Stock Challenge

1.     21   Monty Cox

2.     14   Davey Smart

3.     54   Kaleb Pressley

4.       7   Scott Franklin

5.       2   Ricky Brown

6.       5   Mark Livingston

7.    82   Steve Parris

8.    98   Bryant Wallace

9.    43   Shawn Day

10.  41   Brian Stahl

11.  17   James Dolan

12.  66   Jessica Barlowe

Street Stock
  1. 03   Kevin Eby
  2. 54   Waylon Flynn
  3.   4    Ernie Harris
  4. 88   Josh Burchette
  5. 32   Gary Ledbetter
  6. 64   Marshall Sutton
  7. 78   Brad Birdsall
  8. 41   Jonathon Smith
  9. 12   Mike Hatton
  10. 31   Baron Kurtizky
  11.   0   David Manis
  12. 24   Adam Hatton
  13. 05   Jeff Byers
  14. 99   Roy Smith
  15. 27   Marc Blue
  16. 41   Danny Casteel
  17. 11   Donnie Buckner


S&S Tire and Chrome Mini Stocks
  1. 48    Doug Setzer
  2. 24    A.J. Sanders
  3. 4      Jim Mayberry
  4. 11    Archie Sanders
  5. 27    Tyler Church
  6. 09    Shane Canipe  


Baton Tire Fast & Furious
  1. 23    Tony McKinney
  2. 46    Jason Garwood
  3. 5N   Nikki Long
  4. 5      Stephen Clippard
  5. 7      Brandon Day
  6. 17    Preston Hall
  7. 00    Dallas Ollis
  8. 114  Danny Wyatt
  9. 8      Jody Church

10.  7      Kenny Nix



Tri-County Minis    
  1. 8      Tyler Baird
  2. 1      Billy Hyden
  3. 10    Matt Sizemore
  4. 3      Tim McRae
  5. 6      Bethany Bagwell
  6. 95   Travis Cook  


East Coast Flathead Fords
  1. 53    Rick Newsome
  2. 99    Johnny Johnson
  3. 6      James Rogers
  4. 28    Kenneth Tuttle
  5. 55    John Barrow
  6. 83   Eb Clifton

7.     19   Jerry Tuttle



Current Point Standings



Attention Racers:

Effective Immediately

Tri-County Motor Speedway is available for testing and/or special events.

Interested parties or series please contact Mickey @ 704.929.6666  


Tri-County Motor Speedway

4405 Hickory Nut Ridge Road

Hudson, North Carolina 28638

Office:  828-726-6600

Fax:  828-726-0800