Monday, December 08, 2008

Welcome to 

Tri-County Motor Speedway

Hudson, North Carolina


Located in Western North Carolina, Tri-County Motor Speedway is a 4/10 mile banked asphalt track racing weekly on Friday night as it has for most of it's existence.  A NASCAR Home Track facility, TCMS features Late Models as it's premier division and has been a proving ground for many of today's rising talents.

Come check out the action at TCMS, 5 minutes from I-40 in Hudson, NC.



Like us on our 

Facebook Page


The Official Host Hotel of TCMS

Quality Inn in Hickory, North Carolina is the official hotel of Tri-County Motor Speedway. The hotel is next to the Hickory Regional Airport on Highway 321. The drive time to Tri-County Motor Speedway is 20 minutes.  Please contact Wendi Boyd (Director of Sales) at (828)431-2100 for the special Tri-County Motor Speedway rate.



Tissot On A Roll at TCMS

Hudson, North Carolina (August 18, 2006) - Arden, N.C.ís Lee Tissott has found the right combination for his Late Model Stock racer, formerly piloted by Stan Robinson.  Now, after picking up two wins in a row, Robinson is enjoying joining Tissott in victory lane.  The win was the third of the season for Tissott.


Matt Leicht blistered the speedway during qualifying with a 16.654 lap time and was inverted back to third for the start.  Rock Harris and Jason Grant were sharing the front row.  Harris grabbed the lead early and was able to gain some distance, but Travis Swaim was wound up and in the hunt, chasing after Harris and whittling away the advantage.  Leicht settled into third, while Tissott was fourth.  On lap 21, the shuffling began.  Swaim moved into the lead, Harris fell to second and then third after being passed by Leicht.  On lap 24, Tissott overtook Harris and moved into third, sending Harris to fourth.  Meanwhile, Josh Goble and Ricky Bryant were battling for fifth.  By lap 31, Tissott was in second and bearing down on Swaim for the lead and Leicht spun in turn four.  Lap 36 belonged to Tissott after the restart.


Bryant was moving toward the front and by lap 41 was third.


As Tissott crossed the line at the checkers, Swaim had held on for second and Bryant was third.  Harris was fourth, Goble fifth, Bruce Green sixth, Jason Grant seventh and Neil Browder eighth.  Leicht was ninth and Mike Potter completed the top ten.


Monty Cox continues to soar in the Pepsi Super Stock Challnge, earning another win Friday night.  Cox took over the lead on lap seven and never looked back.  Ricky Brown, the early leader, was second, with Kaleb Pressley third, Scott Franklin fourth and David Messer fifth.


Gary Ledbetter retuned to the speedway, after a long absence, to take the win in the Street Stock ranks.  Ernie Harris posted a strong second with Kevin Eby third, Waylon Flynn fourth and Marshall Sutton was fifth.


The first night of sponsorship by S&S Tire and Chrome of Hickory gave the new sponsor and the fans some exciting racing action in the Mini Stocks and Doug Setzer was the first to pick up the newly posted $500 purse for the winner.  A.J. Sanders was second, Randy Freeze third, Waylon Flynn fourth and Shane Canipe was fifth.


Tony McKinney made his second trip to TCMS in the Baton Tire Fast and Furious ranks and picked up his second win.  Jody Church was second, Jason Garwood third, Stephen Clippard fourth and Nikki Long was fifth.


Jeff Banks continued to burn up the track in the Tri-County Minis and took home his ninth win of the season.  Travis Cook was second, Tyler Baird third, Matt Sizemore fourth and Tim McRae fifth.


The Carolina Vintage Racers were on hand to bring back memories for some of the older fans and Jim Burrell took home the trophy.  Joe Evans was the winner of the v-6 class.


In one of the most exciting Road Rage races of the season, Greg Grindstaff went home as the winner.


Tri-County Motor Speedway will be closed on August 25th.  Racing action will return on September 1st with a 100-lap feature for the Late Models in the Working Man 100 and a regular racing line-up for the other divisions.


For complete rundowns on Friday nightís events and more information call the speedway at 828-726-6600.



Official Results August 18, 2006 Tri-County Motor Speedway 

Late Model Stock

1.    55    Lee Tissott

2.    21    Travis Swaim

3.    9      Ricky Bryant

4.    5      Rock Harris

5.    7      Josh Goble

6.    11    Bruce Green

7.    11    Jason Grant

8.    78    Neil Browder

9.    2      Matt Leicht

10.  97    Mike Potter

11.  72    Jason Cochran


Pepsi Super Stock Challenge

1.    21   Monty Cox

2.    2     Ricky Brown

3.    54   Kaleb Pressley

4.    7     Scott Franklin

5.    26   David Messer

6.    82   Steve Parris

7.    5     Mark Livingston

8.    14   Davey Smart

9.    7     Neil Hall

10.  41   Brian Stahl

11.  98   Bryant Wallace

12.  43   Shawn Day

13.  17   James Dolan

14.  16   Jeff Worley


Street Stock

1.    32   Gary Ledbetter

2.    4     Ernie Harris

3.    03   Kevin Eby

4.    54   Waylon Flynn

5.    64   Marshall Sutton

6.    88   Josh Burchette

7.    0     David Manis

8.    11   Donnie Buckner

9.    24   Adam Hatton

10.  05   Jeff Byers

11.    32   Jeremy Harrell

12.    75   Kevin Hensley

13.    78   Chris Birdsall

14.    9     Gary Lovelace


S&S Tire and Chrome Mini Stocks

1.     48    Doug Setzer

2.     24    A.J. Sanders

3.     16    Randy Freeze

4.     6     Waylon Flynn

5.     09   Shane Canipe

6.     4     Jim Mayberry

7.     61   Scott Whittington

8.     98   Rob Lewis

9.     11   Archie Sanders

10.   27   Tyler Church

11.   33   Kris Kanupp



Baton Tire Fast & Furious

1.     23   Tony McKinney

2.     8     Jody Church

3.     46   Jason Garwood

4.     5     Stephen Clippard

5.     5N   Nikki Long

6.     21   Barney Arnette

7.     7     Brandon Day

8.     17   Preston Hall

9.     00   Dallas Ollis

10.   07   Denver Jones

11.   33   Kenny Watts

12.   7     Kenny Nix

13.   9     Randy Truett


Tri-County Minis

1.    8      Jeff Banks

2.    95    Travis Cook

3.    8      Tyler Baird

4.    10    Matt Sizemore

5.    3      Tim McRae

6.    7      Billy Hyden

7.    2      Dean Frashier

8.    7      Jason Clark



Carolina Vintage Race Cars

1.   27   Jim Burrell

2.   07   Howard Scruggs

3.   3     Wayne Hearne

4.   550 Joe Evans (class winner)

5.   28   Doug Howell

6.   15   Perry Ogley


Road Rage

1.   8    Greg Grindstaff

2.   401 Scott Metcalf




Current Point Standings



Attention Racers:

Effective Immediately

Tri-County Motor Speedway is available for testing and/or special events.

Interested parties or series please contact Mickey @ 704.929.6666  


Tri-County Motor Speedway

4405 Hickory Nut Ridge Road

Hudson, North Carolina 28638

Office:  828-726-6600

Fax:  828-726-0800