Monday, December 08, 2008

Welcome to 

Tri-County Motor Speedway

Hudson, North Carolina


Located in Western North Carolina, Tri-County Motor Speedway is a 4/10 mile banked asphalt track racing weekly on Friday night as it has for most of it's existence.  A NASCAR Home Track facility, TCMS features Late Models as it's premier division and has been a proving ground for many of today's rising talents.

Come check out the action at TCMS, 5 minutes from I-40 in Hudson, NC.



Like us on our 

Facebook Page


The Official Host Hotel of TCMS

Quality Inn in Hickory, North Carolina is the official hotel of Tri-County Motor Speedway. The hotel is next to the Hickory Regional Airport on Highway 321. The drive time to Tri-County Motor Speedway is 20 minutes.  Please contact Wendi Boyd (Director of Sales) at (828)431-2100 for the special Tri-County Motor Speedway rate.



Harris Claims Tri-County Win

Hudson, North Carolina (July 28, 2006) - Rock Harris Rock Harris and the G&G Motorsports team were ready to take on the competition at Tri-County Motor Speedway Friday night and they proved it when Harris rolled into victory lane after winning the Late Model Stock feature.


Ricky Bryant put his Dodge on the top of the list for qualifying; posting a time of 16.777 and the invert sent Bryant back to sixth for the start, sharing the row with Harris, who started fifth.  Nick Waycaster and Josh Goble shared the front row for the drop of the green and Goble got the jump at the start for the lead.


Lee Tissott moved up to second in the first five laps while Harris began his trek to the front of the pack.  By lap 10 Harris was third, behind Goble and Tissot and by lap 12 he had the point.  Tissott made his pass for second on lap 17.  Tissott was there to challenge Harris, but was unable to get by, but the battle between the two veterans kept fans cheering for their favorite.


When the checkered flag went up in the air and Harris had pocketed his third win of the season, Tissott followed in second, Goble third and Bryant had collected fourth.  Waycaster was fifth, Jimmy Doyle sixth, Bruce Green seventh, Brent Raymer eighth, Josh Burchette ninth and Eric Green was tenth.


Ricky Brown took advantage of the strong battles going on behind him the competitive Pepsi Street Stock Challenge to gain a little distance on the field and be able to go on for the win.


Brown started on the outside of the front row, beside polesitter Davey Smart, and was able to get the jump on Smart at the start.  Points leaders Scott Franklin, Monty Cox and Kaleb Pressley started at the back of the field and had their work cut out for them.  They battled each other all the way through the field as they worked their way around traffic to try and catch Brown, who had his Camaro dialed in.  In the race to chase Brown, Cox came home second, Franklin third and Pressley earned fourth.  Shawn Day followed the group to complete the top five.


Waylon Flynn did not let starting in the  next to last starting position stop him from demonstrating his smooth driving skills as he made his way through the entire field to take the win the Street Stock feature.  Flynn was followed across the line by Jeff Hagaman, who battled with Flynn for several laps for the lead.  Ernie Harris was third, Donnie Buckner fourth and Kevin Eby was fifth.


Shane Canipe earned his second Mini Stock feature win of the season after being quick enough at the start to take the lead on lap one after starting fifth on the grid. Canipe was  followed at the checkers by A. J. Sanders in second, Waylon Flynn in third, Doug Setzer fourth and Tyler Church fifth.


Tony McKinney stepped into Shelby Waycaster’s Fast and Furious racer for the first time Friday night.  It was actually McKinney’s first race and he went home a winner.  Being McKinney’s first trip to the track, he started shotgun on the field, but with the moves of an expert, he worked his way through traffic to take the lead on lap 11 and to go on for the win.  Jason Garwood was second, Brad Deal third, Jackie Stone fourth and Stephen Shore was fifth.


The Tri-County Minis came to the green with Tyler Baird starting on the point, but it only took one lap for Travis Cook to put his new racer out front.  As Cook too the checkered flag, Jeff Banks looked on from second, while Matt Sizemore was third, Bethany Bagwell fourth and Baird was fifth.


Official Results July 28, 2006 Tri-County Motor Speedway 

Late Model Stock

1.     5     Rock Harris

2.     55   Lee Tissott

3.     7     Josh Goble

4.     9     Ricky Bryant

5.     32    Nick Waycaster

6.     71    Jimmy Doyle

7.     11   Bruce Green

8.     85   Brent Raymer

9.     15   Josh Burchette

10.   95   Eric Green

11.   19   Travis Mosley

12.   2     Ricky Brown

13.   21   Monty Cox

14.   2     Matt Leicht


Super Stock

1.     2     Ricky Brown

2.     21   Monty Cox

3.     7     Scott Franklin

4.     54    Kaleb Pressley

5.     43    Shawn Day

6.     07    Jason Franklin

7.     82    Steve Parris

8.     21    Jeff Hagaman

9.     64    Marshall Sutton

10.   54    Waylon Flynn

11.   11     Donnie Buckner

12.   4      Ernie Harris

13.   14    Davy Smart


Street Stock

1.     54    Waylon Flynn

2.     21    Jeff Hagaman

3.     4      Ernie Harris

4.     11    Donnie Buckner

5.     03    Kevin Eby

6.     08    Chuck Suddreth

7.     64    Marshall Sutton

8.     0      David Manis

9.   75    Kevin Hensley

10.   24    Adam Hatton

11.   88    Josh Burchette

12.   05    Jeff Byers


Mini Stock

1.     09     Shane Canipe

2.     24     A..J. Sanders

3.     6       Waylon Flynn

4.     48      Doug Setzer

5.     27      Tyler Church

6.     61      Scott Whittington

7.     11      Archie Sanders

8.     28      Ricky Dennie

9.     54      John Triplette



Fast and Furious

1.      23     Tony McKinney

2.      46      Jason Garwood

3.      7        Brad Deal

4.      55      Jackie Stone

5.      121    Stephen Shore

6.      5N     Nikki Long

7.      5        Stephen Clippard

8.      17      Cory Hall

9.      07      Denver Jones

10.    7        Brandon Day

11.    9        Randy Truett


Tri-County Minis

1.      95      Travis Cook

2.      8        Jeff Banks

3.      10      Matt Sizemore

4.      6        Bethany Bagwell

5.      8        Tyler Baird

6.      3        Tim McRae





Current Point Standings



Attention Racers:

Effective Immediately

Tri-County Motor Speedway is available for testing and/or special events.

Interested parties or series please contact Mickey @ 704.929.6666  


Tri-County Motor Speedway

4405 Hickory Nut Ridge Road

Hudson, North Carolina 28638

Office:  828-726-6600

Fax:  828-726-0800