Monday, December 08, 2008

Welcome to 

Tri-County Motor Speedway

Hudson, North Carolina


Located in Western North Carolina, Tri-County Motor Speedway is a 4/10 mile banked asphalt track racing weekly on Friday night as it has for most of it's existence.  A NASCAR Home Track facility, TCMS features Late Models as it's premier division and has been a proving ground for many of today's rising talents.

Come check out the action at TCMS, 5 minutes from I-40 in Hudson, NC.



Like us on our 

Facebook Page


The Official Host Hotel of TCMS

Quality Inn in Hickory, North Carolina is the official hotel of Tri-County Motor Speedway. The hotel is next to the Hickory Regional Airport on Highway 321. The drive time to Tri-County Motor Speedway is 20 minutes.  Please contact Wendi Boyd (Director of Sales) at (828)431-2100 for the special Tri-County Motor Speedway rate.



Bryant Back In Victory Lane at TCMS

Hudson, North Carolina (July 21, 2006) - Ricky Bryant made his third trip to victory lane this season at Tri-County Motor Speedway this Friday night, but his trip to the front of the pack was anything but easy.


Bryant had the fastest qualifying time of the evening, circling the 4/10th mile asphalt oval with a time of 16.660, for an average speed of 86.434 miles per hour, but the invert sent Bryant back to the sixth starting spot.  That put Brian Conner on the pole in his first start at the speedway and Matt Leicht on the outside.


For the second week in a row, the first several laps of the race saw some exciting side-by-side racing among the top starters.  Leicht and Conner were in a heated battle, while behind them Travis Swaim and Lee Tissot were door-to-door.  Conner, Josh Goble and Ricky Bryant were in a three-way duel.  Swaim, once again, tried making a few three-wide moves in an attempt to go for the lead.


By the time things settled down, a dozen laps into the 50-lap race, there had been numerous lead changes and Lee Tissot was on the point.  Tissott was only able to pull ahead of Leicht for two laps, before the lead swap was made and Leicht was back on the point. Meanwhile,  Goble had moved up to third, followed by Swaim.  Bryant was methodically taking one car at a time to challenge and sent Swaim back to fifth, and there was another lead change, before 20 laps were complete.


Tissott was back on the point, with  Leicht second and Goble third, but only a handful of laps later, Bryant had made his way past Goble and Leicht to take second and was ready to put the heat on Tissott.  Swaim was working on Goble and took that spot away on lap 28.  Nick Waycaster, fresh off of his first win last week,  came up to battle Goble.


With only eight laps left, Bryant made his move on Tissott for the win.  Tissott was second, Swaim third, Waycaster fourth and newcomer Brent Raymer had an excellent run coming home fifth.


Goble was sixth, Leicht seventh, Conner eighth, Bruce Green ninth and John Graham rounded out the top ten.

Monty Cox earned his third win a row in the Pepsi Super Stock Challenge by holding off Scott Franklin for the win.  Franklin was second and Brian Stahl, who returned after a several week absence, posted a solid third place.  Steve Parris was fourth and Kaleb Pressley was fifth.





Kevin Eby collected his first win of the season in the Street Stock 25-lapper by holding off Ernie Harris, who had been an early leader.  Waylon Flynn took over the point on lap 11, but with only two laps to go, Eby made the move to go on for the win. Flynn fell off the pace and Harris took home second, Marshall Sutton third, Josh Burchette fourth and Flynn fell to fifth.


Flynn did pick up another win, this time in the Mini Stock feature.  Flynn took the lead from Doug Setzer on lap 12 to go on to the finish line.  Setzer was second, Archie Sanders third, A.J. Sanders fourth and Tyler Church was fifth.


Jason Garwood earned the Fast & Furious win after taking the lead on lap five.  Stephen Clippard was second, Nikki Long third, Jackie Stone fourth and Barney Arnette was fifth.


Jeff Banks was back in his usual winning form in the Tri-County Minis, taking the checkered flag ahead of runner-up Drew Bagwell.  Travis Cook was third, Tim McRae fourth, and Bethany Bagwell was fifth.


Official Results July 21, 2006 Tri-County Motor Speedway

Late Model Stock

1.     9      Ricky Bryant

2.     55    Lee Tissot

3.     21    Travis Swaim

4.     32    Nick Waycaster

5.     85    Brent Raymer

6.     7      Josh Goble

7.     2      Matt Leicht

8.     21    Brian Conner

9.     11    Bruce Green

10.   27    John Graham

11.   4      Eddy Cox

12.   7      Scott Franklin

13.   21    Monty Cox


Pepsi Super Stock

1.     21    Monty Cox

2.     7      Scott Franklin

3.     41    Brian Stahl

4.     82    Steve Parris

5.     54    Kaleb Pressley

6.     43    Shawn Day

7.     64    Marshall Sutton

8.     03    Kevin Eby

9.     14    Davey Smart

10.   2      Ricky Brown

11.   66    Jessica Barlow


Street Stock

1.     03     Kevin Eby

2.     4       Ernie Harris

3.     64     Marshall Sutton

4.     88     Josh Burchette

5.     54    Waylon Flynn

6.     08     Chuck Suddreth

7.     75     Kevin Hensley

8.     05     Jeff Byers



Mini Stock

1.     6       Waylon Flynn

2.     48      Doug Setzer

3.     11      Archie Sanders

4.     24      A.J. Sanders

5.     27      Tyler Church

6.     4        Jim Mayberry


Baton Tire Fast & Furious

1.      46     Jason Garwood

2.      5       Stephen Clippard

3.      5N    Nikki Long

4.      55     Jackie Stone

5.      21     Barney Arnette

6.      23     Shelby Waycaster

7.      7       Brandon Day

8.      17     Preston Hall

9.      33     Kenny Watts

10.    24     Randy Truett

11.    7       Kenny Nix

Tri-County Minis

1.      8       Jeff Banks

2.      21     Drew Bagwell

3.      95     Travis Cook

4.      3       Tim McRae

5.      6       Bethany Bagwell

6.      10     Matt Sizemore

7.      8       Tyler Baird

8.      7       Chris Owens

9.      2       Dean Frashier




Current Point Standings



Attention Racers:

Effective Immediately

Tri-County Motor Speedway is available for testing and/or special events.

Interested parties or series please contact Mickey @ 704.929.6666  


Tri-County Motor Speedway

4405 Hickory Nut Ridge Road

Hudson, North Carolina 28638

Office:  828-726-6600

Fax:  828-726-0800