Monday, December 08, 2008

Welcome to 

Tri-County Motor Speedway

Hudson, North Carolina


Located in Western North Carolina, Tri-County Motor Speedway is a 4/10 mile banked asphalt track racing weekly on Friday night as it has for most of it's existence.  A NASCAR Home Track facility, TCMS features Late Models as it's premier division and has been a proving ground for many of today's rising talents.

Come check out the action at TCMS, 5 minutes from I-40 in Hudson, NC.



Like us on our 

Facebook Page


The Official Host Hotel of TCMS

Quality Inn in Hickory, North Carolina is the official hotel of Tri-County Motor Speedway. The hotel is next to the Hickory Regional Airport on Highway 321. The drive time to Tri-County Motor Speedway is 20 minutes.  Please contact Wendi Boyd (Director of Sales) at (828)431-2100 for the special Tri-County Motor Speedway rate.



Harris Rocks at Tri-County

Hudson, North Carolina (June 30, 2006) - Rock Harris took home the win in the “Do the Dew 150”, presented by Mountain Dew, Friday night at Tri-County Motor Speedway.


A field of 21 Late Model Stock racers descended on the 4/10th mile speedway to attempt a shot at the $2000.00 winner’s purse.  Kevin Leicht was quickest by qualifying with a time of 16.574 and started the feature from the sixth starting spot, by virtue of the invert.


As the green flag was shown to the field, Brandon Dean and Matt Leicht immediately started, then Travis Jarrett got a turn at the point, as did Brandon Bonnett and Travis Mosely. The first 12 laps had seven lead changes among five cars.  On the 12th lap, Harris took the lead and was on his way to collect the money.


The battles were far from over, as Randy Porter and Leicht kept the action hot, while Travis Swaim was ready to join the hunt.  Meanwhile, Ricky Bryant was laying low and saving his car for the end.


At the halfway point, Harris was first with Kevin Leicht in second, Swaim third, Matt Leicht fourth and Porter fifth.


As the race resumed, K. Leicht held second, while Swaim took over third. With 25 laps remaining in the race, Swaim had moved up to second with Bryant following in third.


Harris, Swaim and Bryant would come to the flag in that order with Lee Tissot coming back from a spin on lap seven to finish fourth.  Porter was fifth, Josh Goble was sixth, after starting 16th.  Kevin Leicht was seventh, Dean eighth, Matt Leicht ninth and Bonnett was tenth in his first outing at the speedway.


Monty Cox came from the eighth starting spot to take the win in the Super Stock 30 lap feature.


Ricky Brown grabbed the lead at the start and was able to hold it until lap six, when he gave way to Don Carlton.  Carlton held the lead for two laps before Cox made his move and on lap eleven Scott Franklin went by Carlton and then caution flew for Carlton’s fallen window net. All the while David Messer was in the thick of the battle and was being challenged by Kaleb Pressley. On lap 16, Pressley took over third from Messer.


Cox took the win, while an on track altercation between Brown and Carlton was taking place on the track and in the pits after the checkered flag. Both drivers ended up with wrecked cars on pit road.    Franklin was second, Messer third, Pressley fourth and Brown was fifth.


Waylon Flynn visited victory lane in the Street Stock race, with Kevin Eby second, Marshall Sutton third, Kevin Townsend fourth and Josh Burchette fifth.


Mike Hatton led the first two laps before giving up the spot to Kevin Eby, who held onto the point for the next seven laps until Flynn made his way to the front.


A crash on lap 10, involving Hatton, Jim Ledden and Jeff Campbell brought out a caution.  Hatton was injured and taken to a local hospital where he was checked, treated and released.


The Mini Stock feature went to Hank Hefner after a long battle with A.J. Sanders.  Sander took the lead on lap two from Scott Whittington and Waylon Flynn then joined the battle, keeping fans on the edge of their seat lap and lap.  Sanders led the first half of the race, then Hefner made his move, but had to fend off the advances made by Sanders for the remainder of the 20-lapper. With Hefner earning the win, followed by Sanders, Doug Setzer was third, Flynn fourth and George Anen, Jr. was fifth.


Jeff Wagoner was the best in the 13 car field of Fast & Furious racers, while Jason Garwood was second, Nikki Long third, Jackie Stone fourth and Stephen Clippard fifth.


Jeff Banks fought his way to the front in the Tri-County Mini feature to take the win with Travis Cook second, Drew Bagwell fourth, Matt Sizemore fifth and Tim McRae fifth.


This coming Friday night, July 7th, Tri-County Motor Speedway will be taking a night off for employees, competitors and fans to spend time with their families.


The PASS Super Late Models with have the Firecracker 150 on Tuesday, July 4th.  The Street Stocks, Mini Stocks and Fast & Furious are also on the schedule for a non-points race.  Gates for fans will open at the regular times and the night will end with fireworks after the last event.  For more information, call the speedway at (828) 726-6600 or visit on the web.   


Official Results June 30, 2006 Tri-County Motor Speedway

Late Model Stock

1.       5     Rock Harris

2.       21   Travis Swaim

3.       9     Ricky Bryant

4.       55   Lee Tissot

5.       12   Randy Porter

6.       7     Josh Goble

7.       32   Kevin Leicht

8.       54   Brandon Dean

9.       2     Matt Leicht

10.   3    Brandon Bonnett

11.  95   Eric Green

12.  55   John Reynolds, Jr.

13.  32   Nick Waycaster

14.  11   Bruce Green

15.  19   Travis Mosley

16.  71   Jimmy Doyle

17.  78   Neil Browder

18.  72   Jason Cochran

19.  28   Travis Jarrett

20.  36   Anthony Anders

21.  55   John Reynolds, Sr.


Super Stock

1.    21   Monty Cox

2.    7     Scott Franklin

3.   26    David Messer

4.   54    Kaleb Pressley

5.   2      Ricky Brown

6.   1      Don Carlton

7.   54    Waylon Flynn

8.   43    Shawn Day

9.   64    Marshall Sutton

10. 03    Kevin Eby

11. 14    Davey Smart


Street Stock

1.   54   Waylon Flynn

2.   03   Kevin Eby

3.   64   Marshall Sutton

4.   21   Kevin Townsend

5.   88   Josh Burchette

6.   75   Kevin Hensley

7.   69   Jeff Campbell

8.   4     Ernie Harris

9.   12   Mike Hatton

10. 41   Jim Ledden

11. 24   Adam Hatton



Mini Stock

1.   00   Hank Hefner

2.   24   A.J. Sanders

3.   48   Doug Setzer

4.   6     Waylon Flynn

5.   42   George Anen, Jr.

6.   41   Kenny Campbell

7.   61   Scott Whittington

8.   4     Andrew Sanders

9.   27   Tyler Church

10. 54   John Triplette

11. 11   Archie Sanders

12. 33   Kris Kanupp


Fast and Furious

1.   26   Jeff Wagoner

2.   46   Jason Garwood

3.   5N   Nikki Long

4.   55   Jackie Stone

5.   5     Stephen Clippard

6.   121 Stephen Shore

7.   33   Kenny Watts

8.   23   Shelby Waycaster

9.   24   Randy Truett

10. 0     Scotty Crocker

11. 17   Cory Hall

12. 7     Kenny Nix

13. 07   Denver Jones


Tri-County Minis

1.   8     Jeff Banks

2.   00   Travis Cook

3.   21   Drew Bagwell

4.   10   Matt Sizemore

5.   3     Tim McRae

6.   6     Bethany Bagwell

7.   5     Tony Taylor

8.   3     Chad McKinney

9.   7     Chris Owens

10. 8     Tyler Baird

11. 2     James Frashier         





Current Point Standings



Attention Racers:

Effective Immediately

Tri-County Motor Speedway is available for testing and/or special events.

Interested parties or series please contact Mickey @ 704.929.6666  


Tri-County Motor Speedway

4405 Hickory Nut Ridge Road

Hudson, North Carolina 28638

Office:  828-726-6600

Fax:  828-726-0800