Monday, December 08, 2008

Welcome to 

Tri-County Motor Speedway

Hudson, North Carolina


Located in Western North Carolina, Tri-County Motor Speedway is a 4/10 mile banked asphalt track racing weekly on Friday night as it has for most of it's existence.  A NASCAR Home Track facility, TCMS features Late Models as it's premier division and has been a proving ground for many of today's rising talents.

Come check out the action at TCMS, 5 minutes from I-40 in Hudson, NC.



Like us on our 

Facebook Page


The Official Host Hotel of TCMS

Quality Inn in Hickory, North Carolina is the official hotel of Tri-County Motor Speedway. The hotel is next to the Hickory Regional Airport on Highway 321. The drive time to Tri-County Motor Speedway is 20 minutes.  Please contact Wendi Boyd (Director of Sales) at (828)431-2100 for the special Tri-County Motor Speedway rate.



Bryant Rolls to Victory at TCMS

Hudson, North Carolina (May 19, 2006) - Ricky Bryant beat the best in Late Model Stock racing to take home the Late Model Stock victory Friday night at Tri-County Motor Speedway.


Lee Tissot was quickest to lap the 4/10ths mile speedway during qualifying with a time of 16.660.  The invert sent Josh Goble to the inside front row, which was shared by one of Dale Earnhardt, Jr.ís Late Models, driven by Richard Boswell.


Goble was fast across the stripe at the green taking the lead, which he held for most of the event, but Ricky Bryant had just enough edge to pass Goble with six laps remaining, after Bryant started seventh on the field and had to work his way through traffic. By lap 37  Bryant was ready to put the pressure on Goble for the lead.


  As Bryant celebrated in victory lane, Goble took home second with Rock Harris third, Jay Gerst , and Jimmy Doyle fifth.


Monty Cox was first across the line this week in the Pepsi Super Stock Challenge and, unlike last week, he was able to pass post-race inspection and keep the win.  Kaleb Pressley was second, Scott Franklin third, Steve Parris fourth and Bryant Wallace was fifth.


The same scenario played out in the Street Stocks as did the Super Stock.  Kevin Townsend took the checkered flag and this week he was also able to keep the trophy. Gary Ledbetter was second, Marshall Sutton third, Waylon Flynn fourth and Kevin Eby was fifth.


In the Baton Tire Fast and Furious action, Nikki Long and Ben Smith put on a battle for the lead that kept fans on their feet and in the end, it was Smith across the line first with Long second, Jackie Stone third, Stephen Shore fourth and Jason Garwood fifth.


In a special Fast and Furious event for non-feature winners, Ben Smith also took the trophy, with Shelby Waycaster second, Jackie Stone third, Garwood fourth and Tim Reece fifth.


The Tri-County Minis had a new winner this week as Travis Cook was able to beat Jeff Banks at the line with Banks taking second, Matt Sizemore third, Tyler Baird fourth and Tim McRae fifth.


This coming Friday night, TCMS will have regular racing in all divisions, along with the return of Road Rage!


Pit gates open at 4, trackside parking opens at 5 and the main grandstand opens at 6.  Practice begins at 6, qualifying is at 7 and racing is at 8.


For more information, call the speedway at 828-726-6600.



Official Results May 19, 2006 Tri-County Motor Speedway

Late Model Stocks

1.    9   Ricky Bryant

2.    7   Josh Goble

3.    5   Rock Harris

4.    8   Jay Gerst

5.    71 Jimmy Doyle

6.    33 Greg Sheppard

7.    27 John Graham

8.    35 Matt Scoggins

9.    72 Richard Boswell

10.  72 Jason Cochran

11.  32 Nick Waycaster

12.  71 Scott Young

13.  45 Scott Wilkerson

14.  51 Lee Tissot

15.  41 Justin Doyle

16.  11 Bruce Green

17.  7   Ashley Huffman


Super Stocks

1.   21  Monty Cox

2.   54  Kaleb Pressley

3.   7    Scott Franklin

4.   82  Steve Parris

5.   98  Bryant Wallace

6.   5   Mark Livingston

7.   43  Shawn Day

8.   41  Brian Stahl

9.   17  James Dolan

10. 12  Lanny Robinson

11. 14  Davey Smart

12.  2  Ricky Brown


Street Stocks

1. 21  Kevin Townsend

2. 3   Gary Ledbetter

3. 64  Marshall Sutton

4. 54  Waylon Flynn

5. 03  Kevin Eby

6. 88  Josh Burchette

7. 4    Ernie Harris

8. 24  Adam Hatton

9. 3    Greg Grindstaff

10. 12 Mike Hatton

11. 33 Gary Dietz

12. 32 Jeremy Harrell


Fast & Furious

1.   44   Ben Smith

2.   5n   Nikki Long

3.   55   Jackie Stone

4.  121  Stephen Shore

5.   46   Jason Garwood

6.   11    Jimmy Whisnant

7.   26   Angela Adair

8.   24   Randy Truett

9.   17   Preston Hall

10. 26   Jeff Wagoner

11. 3     Tim Reece

12. 23   Shelby Waycaster

13. 5     Stephen Clippard


Fast & Furious

(Non-winners event)

1.  44 Ben Smith

2.  23 Shelby Waycaster

3.  55  Jackie Stone

4.  46  Jason Garwood

5.   3   Tim Reese

6.  11   Jimmy Whisnant

7.  17   Preston Hall

8. 121  Stephen Shore


Tri-County Minis

1.  00 Travis Cook

2.  32 Jeff Banks

3.  10 Matt Sizemore

4.  8   Tyler Baird

5.  3   Tim McRae





Current Point Standings



Attention Racers:

Effective Immediately

Tri-County Motor Speedway is available for testing and/or special events.

Interested parties or series please contact Mickey @ 704.929.6666  


Tri-County Motor Speedway

4405 Hickory Nut Ridge Road

Hudson, North Carolina 28638

Office:  828-726-6600

Fax:  828-726-0800