Monday, December 08, 2008

Welcome to 

Tri-County Motor Speedway

Hudson, North Carolina


Located in Western North Carolina, Tri-County Motor Speedway is a 4/10 mile banked asphalt track racing weekly on Friday night as it has for most of it's existence.  A NASCAR Home Track facility, TCMS features Late Models as it's premier division and has been a proving ground for many of today's rising talents.

Come check out the action at TCMS, 5 minutes from I-40 in Hudson, NC.



Like us on our 

Facebook Page


The Official Host Hotel of TCMS

Quality Inn in Hickory, North Carolina is the official hotel of Tri-County Motor Speedway. The hotel is next to the Hickory Regional Airport on Highway 321. The drive time to Tri-County Motor Speedway is 20 minutes.  Please contact Wendi Boyd (Director of Sales) at (828)431-2100 for the special Tri-County Motor Speedway rate.



Pressleys Takes Features at Tri-County

Hudson, North Carolina (April 28, 2006) = Coleman Pressley and cousin, Kaleb Pressley, both won feature events at Tri-County Friday night, adding the famous racing name into the record books in a night that would have made their grandfather, the late Bob Pressley proud.


Coleman Pressley earned the Late Model Stock win in his first outing at the speedway, as well as posting the fastest qualifying speed. The invert put Dexter Canipe, Jr. on the pole for the start of the race and Canipe was quick to grab the lead.  Blair Addis shared the front row with Canipe and followed suit in second for a number of laps.


Pressley, who started fifth, had his work cut out for him with traffic and his first mission was to get by the Dodge of Ricky Bryant.  It took less than ten laps to get around Bryant and then Rock Harris was next on the list.  After several laps, Pressley put Harris in his rearview and went to work on Addis.  With this being the first time either of the two drivers had raced at the speedway, it was quite a show.  Addis was left with a great deal of experience, but riding in third, while Pressley had his nose pointed toward the front.  By lap 17, Pressley was able to motor past Canipe for the lead.  The action did not end there, as Addis, Canipe and Harris battled lap after lap for the top five spots and then Bryant was ready to add his Late Model to the fray. Bryant worked his way through the traffic jam to earn second in the end and was on his way to attempt a move on Pressley, but was not able to get by Pressley before the checkered flag flew.


Bryant settled for second with Canipe third, Bruce Green fourth and Harris fifth.  John Graham was sixth, Addis seventh, Donnie Buckner eighth, Justin Doyle ninth and Nick Proffit was tenth.


In the Pepsi Super Stock Challenge, Kaleb Pressley earned his second win a row by getting to the front and around early leader Shad Higgins in only 14 laps.  Higgins held second until lap 23, when Ricky Brown made a move for second. Brown couldnít hold the spot long enough, as Scott Franklin on the move, followed by Monty Cox and Don Carlton.  Franklin crossed the line second behind Pressley, while Brown followed in third, but Brown was unable to get through post-race inspection, moving Cox up to third, with Carlton fourth, and Mark Livingston fifth.     Seventy three year-old Bryant Wallace gave the young guns a run for their money, coming home sixth.  Lanny Robinson was seventh, Davey Smart eighth, Brian Stahl ninth and James Dolan was tenth.


Gary Ledbetter, Jr.  picked up his first win of the season in the Street Stock feature, after coming from the rear of the field.  At the drop of the green Gary Dietz was quick to grab the lead, but was unable to keep Marshall Sutton from coming by and taking the lead for the first 11 laps. Waylon Flynn then picked up the lead, with Ledbetter following close behind. Flynnís lead was short lived as Ledbetter sped past on lap 13.  Flynn fell back leaving Sutton to earn second with Kevin Eby taking third.  Josh Burchette was fourth and Flynn finished fifth.


Stephen Clippard picked up his first win of the season in the Baton Tire Fast and Furious, with rookie Stephen Shore second, Nikki Long third, Tim Reece fourth and  another rookie, Tracy Bolick, fifth.


Waylon Flynn did double duty and was able to pick up the win in the Mini Stock feature, with Hank Hefner bringing his battered racer home second, A.J. Sanders in third and Randy Freeze fourth.  Reigning division champion Doug Setzer was fifth.


The Tri-County Minis put on exciting show for the fans as Jeff Banks waited until the white flag lap to take the lead from Drew Bagwell, who had led the way from the start.  The pair battled lap and lap, but in the end Banks picked up win number two and Bagwell brought his new racer home in second.  Tyler Baird was third, Bethany Bagwell fourth and Tim McRae was fifth.


The East Coast Flathead Fords brought back memories for those who have been racing for many years, but when 63 year-old James Rogers took the checkered flag followed by 82 year-old Jack Hale, the fans loved it.  Both drivers fall into the senior citizenís category, but they do not race like seniors.  Both drivers raced hard and were trailed across the line by Kenneth Tuttle in third, Eb Clifton in fourth and John Barrow in fifth.


Next Friday night, TCMS will host racing in all divisions along with a special 50-lap event for the Super Stocks.  Trackside parking opens at 5, the main grandstand at 6 and racing is at 8.   For more information, call the speedway office at 828-726-6600.


Race Results Tri-County Motor Speedway - April 28, 2006

Late Model

1.   59    Coleman Pressley

2.    9     Ricky Bryant

3.    3     Dexter Canipe, Jr.

4.   11    Bruce Green

5.    5     Rock Harris

6.   27    John Graham

7.    6     Blair Addis

8.    1     Donnie Buckner

9.   41    Justin Doyle

10.   5    Nick Proffitt  

11. 32    Nick Waycaster

12.   7    Scott Franklin

13.   2    Ricky Brown

14.  54   Kaleb Pressley

Super Stock

1.    54   Kaleb Pressley

2.     7    Scott Franklin

3.    21   Monty Cox

4.     1    Don Carlton

5.     5    Mark Livingston

6.    98   Bryant Wallace

7.    12   Lanny Robinson

8.    14   Davey Smart

9.    41   Brian Stahl

10.  17   James Dolan

11.    8   Thomas Young

12.  15   Shad Higgins

13.  43   Shawn Day

14.    2   Ricky Brown


Street Stock

1.    32   Gary Ledbetter, Jr.

2.    64   Marshall Sutton

3.    03   Kevin Eby

4.    88   Josh Burchette

5.    54   Waylon Flynn

6.    21   Kevin Townsend

7.     0    David Manis

8.   33    Gary Dietz

9.   12    Mike Hatton

10. 41    Danny Casteel

11. 11    Mark Deyton


Mini Stock

1.    6    Waylon Flynn

2.   00   Hank Hefner

3.   24   A.J. Sanders

4.   16   Randy Freeze

5.   48   Doug Setzer

6.   61   Scott Whittington

7.   27   Tyler Church

8.   11   Archie Sanders

9.   72   Jason Cochran

10.   1   Jake Lehn

11. 51   Rick Woody


Fast and Furious

1.    5    Stephen Clippard

2.  121   Stephen Shore

3.   22    Nikki Long

4.     3    Tim Reece

5.     5    Tracy Bolick

6.   23    Shelby Waycaster

7.   02     Randy Truett


Tri-County Minis

1.    32    Jeff Banks

2.    21    Drew Bagwell

3.     8     Tyler Baird

4.     6     Bethany Bagwell

5.     3     Tim McRae

6.    24     Ryan Carson

7.      7    Mike Nichols




Current Point Standings



Attention Racers:

Effective Immediately

Tri-County Motor Speedway is available for testing and/or special events.

Interested parties or series please contact Mickey @ 704.929.6666  


Tri-County Motor Speedway

4405 Hickory Nut Ridge Road

Hudson, North Carolina 28638

Office:  828-726-6600

Fax:  828-726-0800