Monday, December 08, 2008

Welcome to 

Tri-County Motor Speedway

Hudson, North Carolina


Located in Western North Carolina, Tri-County Motor Speedway is a 4/10 mile banked asphalt track racing weekly on Friday night as it has for most of it's existence.  A NASCAR Home Track facility, TCMS features Late Models as it's premier division and has been a proving ground for many of today's rising talents.

Come check out the action at TCMS, 5 minutes from I-40 in Hudson, NC.



Like us on our 

Facebook Page


The Official Host Hotel of TCMS

Quality Inn in Hickory, North Carolina is the official hotel of Tri-County Motor Speedway. The hotel is next to the Hickory Regional Airport on Highway 321. The drive time to Tri-County Motor Speedway is 20 minutes.  Please contact Wendi Boyd (Director of Sales) at (828)431-2100 for the special Tri-County Motor Speedway rate.



Leicht Takes 100-Lapper at TCMS 

Hudson, North Carolina (April 14, 2006) – Kevin Leicht drove a smooth, smart race in a great handling car to take the win in the season opening event, “The Race of Champions,” at Tri-County Motor Speedway Friday night. 


Last season’s division champions were presented a trophy during the intermission and honored for their outstanding 2005 season at Tri-County.  Josh Goble, Scott Franklin, Kevin Eby, Doug Setzer, Jeff Poston, and Jeff Banks were on hand to accept their trophies and the cheers from the fans.

Jimmy Doyle was quickest in qualifying, but moved to the sixth starting spot due to the invert. This put Nick Waycaster bringing the cars to the green, with Dexter Canipe, Jr. sharing the front row.     As the green flag fell over the field, Ricky Bryant made a daring three-wide move to go from the third row inside to the front before the lap was complete.  Bryant was able to maintain the lead until lap 34, when Leicht made his move for the lead.  Bryant was able to keep second until the end, following Leicht across the stripe.  Canipe was third, Lee Tissot fourth and Nick Waycaster was fifth.  Rock Harris was sixth, Jeff Choquette seventh, Randy King eighth, Kyle Beattie ninth and John Reynolds completed the top ten.


Kaleb Pressley was on fire Friday night as he led flag-to-flag to take the win the Super Stock ranks.  While Pressley was out front the action behind him kept the crowd on their feet as Ricky Brown and David Messer battled for second, while Monty Cox and Scott Franklin were trying to make their way to the front and working through heavy traffic. Bryant Wallace, the 73-year-old hotshoe, held fourth for several laps, but was unable to hold off Franklin for the position as Franklin made his way to a second place finish.  Cox worked his way up to earn third, with Mark Livingston fourth, David Messer fifth, and Brown recovered from a lap 15 spin to take sixth.  Wallace was seventh, Brian Stahl eighth, Jason Franklin ninth and Shawn Day was tenth.


 In the Street Stock event, it was Waylon Flynn holding off current champion Kevin Eby to earn the win.

Eby got by Josh Burchette on lap 18 to earn second with Burchette taking third.  Marshall Sutton was fourth, David Manis fifth, Gary Dietz sixth, Mike Hatton seventh, Blane Huffman eighth, Adam Hatton ninth and Patrick Williams tenth.


A. J. Sanders was quick to grab the lead in the Mini Stock feature and had his hands full with Waylon Flynn challenging for the top spot.  Flynn was able to pull alongside Sanders numerous times, but slipped when it really counted coming out of four and had to settle for second.     Hank Hefner was third, Randy Freeze fourth, Doug Setzer fifth and George Anen, Jr. sixth.  David Pennell was seventh, Scott Whittington eight, Tyler Church ninth and Archie Sanders tenth.


In the Fast and Furious, Jody Church brought his new racer and had it dialed in.  Nikki Long jumped out to an early lead, but Church had other ideas as he took the top spot.     Stephen Clippard made his way up to second, but was unable to get by Church. Long followed in fourth with Jackie Stone fourth and Randy Truett fifth.


The most exciting finish of the evening came during the Tri-County Minis, when 14-year-old Tim McRae lost a front wheel coming to the flag and rolled down the front stretch several times.  McRae was unhurt, but winner Jeff Banks had to wait a few minutes for crews to upright the car and clear the track in order to have his trophy presentation.  With Banks taking the win, 14-year-old Tyler Baird, of Lenoir, was second in his first race ever.     Drew Bagwell was third, Matt Sizemore fourth and Travis Cook was fifth.


This coming week, Tri-County will feature regular racing in all divisions, and as a special treat for the older fans, a chance to reminisce, as the East Coast Flathead Ford association will be racing at the speedway.


Gates open at 6, qualifying at 7, racing begins at 8.  For more information, call the speedway at 828-726-6600.


Race Results Tri-County Motor Speedway - April 14, 2006

Late Model

1.   32    Kevin Leicht

2.     9    Ricky Bryant

3.     3    Dexter Canipe, Jr.

4.    84   Lee Tissot

5.    32   Nick Waycaster

6.     5    Rock Harris

7.    11   Jeff Choquette

8.     4    Randy King

9.    70   Kyle Beattie

10.  55   John Reynolds

11.  95   Eric Green

12.   2    Matt Leicht

13.  11   Bruce Greene

14.  41   Justin Doyle

15.    7   Josh Goble

16.  27   John Graham

17.  71   Jimmy Doyle

18.  11   Rance Hume

Super Stock

1.   54    Kaleb Pressley

2.     7    Scott Franklin

3.   21    Monty Cox

4.     5    Mark Livingston

5.    26   David Messer

6.    2     Ricky Brown

7.   98    Bryant Wallace

8.   41    Brian Stahl

9.   07   Jason Franklin

10. 43   Shawn Day

11.   8   Thomas Young

12.  17  James Dolan

13.  16  Jeffrey Worley

14.   15   Shad Higgins

15.   14   Davey Smart


Street Stock

1.   54   Waylon Flynn 

2.   03   Kevin Eby

3.   88   Josh Burchette

4.   64   Marshall Sutton

5.     0   David Manis

6.   33   Gary Dietz

7.   12   Mike Hatton

8.   27   Blane Huffman

9.   24   Adam Hatton

10.   9   Patrick Williams

11.  32  Jeremy Harrell

12.  10  Mark Deyton

13.  41  Danny Casteel


Mini Stock

1.   24   AJ Sanders

2.    6   Waylon Flynn

3.   00   Hank Hefner

4.   16   Randy Freeze

5.   48   Doug Setzer

6.   42   George Anen, Jr.

7.     6   David Pennell

8.    61   Scott Whittington

9.    27   Tyler Church

10.  11   Archie Sanders

11.  54   John Triplette

12.  28   Horace Grffin

13.  51

14.  33   Kris Kanupp


Fast and Furious

1.     8   Jody Church

2.     5   Stephen Clippard

3.    22   Nickki Long

4.    55   Jackie Stone

5.    02   Randy Truett

6.    21   Barney Arnette

7.   28   David Nesbitt

8.   23   Shelby Waycaster

9.    5    Tony Bradley

10.   7    Barry Wilson


Tri-County Minis

1.   32   Jeff Banks

2.     8   Tyler Baird

3.   21   Drew Bagwell

4.   10   Matt Sizemore

5.   00   Travis Cook

6.    6    Bethany Bagwell

7.   24   Ryan Carson

8.   59   James Rice

9.   01   Tony Taylor

10.   3   Tim McRae

11.   7   Mike Nichols




Current Point Standings



Attention Racers:

Effective Immediately

Tri-County Motor Speedway is available for testing and/or special events.

Interested parties or series please contact Mickey @ 704.929.6666  


Tri-County Motor Speedway

4405 Hickory Nut Ridge Road

Hudson, North Carolina 28638

Office:  828-726-6600

Fax:  828-726-0800