Monday, December 08, 2008

Welcome to 

Tri-County Motor Speedway

Hudson, North Carolina


Located in Western North Carolina, Tri-County Motor Speedway is a 4/10 mile banked asphalt track racing weekly on Friday night as it has for most of it's existence.  A NASCAR Home Track facility, TCMS features Late Models as it's premier division and has been a proving ground for many of today's rising talents.

Come check out the action at TCMS, 5 minutes from I-40 in Hudson, NC.



Like us on our 

Facebook Page


The Official Host Hotel of TCMS

Quality Inn in Hickory, North Carolina is the official hotel of Tri-County Motor Speedway. The hotel is next to the Hickory Regional Airport on Highway 321. The drive time to Tri-County Motor Speedway is 20 minutes.  Please contact Wendi Boyd (Director of Sales) at (828)431-2100 for the special Tri-County Motor Speedway rate.



Bryant Rolls Dodge to TCMS Win

By Pat Simmons


Hudson, NC (July 15, 2005) - Ricky Bryant came to Tri-County Motor Speedway a couple of weeks ago and his luck wasn’t very good, but when he rolled in Friday he was cocked and loaded with a Dodge that couldn’t be beat.


Bryant was extremely fast and the sealed Dodge crate motor in his mount did not let him down.  Bryant beat out the best of the Tri-County veterans for his first win.


At the drop of the green Jimmy Doyle was able to take the point and spent several laps fending off Nick Waycaster’s charges. By lap 23, Bryant and had overtaken Doyle and Lee Tissot, but Tissot was not easily dissuaded and gave pursuit.  Tissot followed Bryant toward the front, but was unable to get by Bryant, who had the only Dodge in the field and was on a rail.


With Bryant taking the win and Tissot second, Waycaster was able to get by Doyle for third, leaving Doyle in fourth.  Josh Goble was fifth, Junior Franks sixth and John Reynolds seventh.  Eric Green, Stan Robinson and Alan Scoggins rounded out the top ten respectively.


In the Pepsi Super Stock Challenge, it looked as though it might be Chuck Suddreth’s night, but on lap 17 Monty Cox came to spoil Suddreth’s plans.   Cox took the lead and never looked back.


Suddreth had to settle for second with Marshall Sutton third, Ricky Brown fourth and Russell Goforth fifth.


In the Street Stock feature Gary Dietz had to have help in and out of his car after having recent shoulder surgery, but it did not affect his ability to wheel his Camaro around the track.  Dietz took his first win of the season in fine fashion.


Jesse Lefevers was second, Kevin Townsend third, Jamey Mitchum fourth and Josh Burchette was fifth.


In the 50-lap Mini Stock feature Randy Freeze made the trek from China Grove to take home the money and the trophy after racing against the best of the best Mini Stock racers in the country.  Freeze took the lead on lap 11 and obviously had the car to beat.  After extensive post-race inspection was declared legal and collected the $500 cash.


A.J.Sanders was second with T.J. Canipe third, Doug Setzer fourth and Greg Butcher fifth.


The Fast and Furious win went to Chad Miller after his third try at taking the checkered flag.  Miller held off Ben Smith for the win with Michael Troy third, David Hasson fourth and  Jeff Poston fifth.


The Tri-County Minis had a scary moment on the first lap when Rob Wilson spun and Matt Sizemore was unable to avoid him and nailed him hard in the door, sending him into the into the tire at the entrance to pit road.  Both drivers escaped without serious injury, but both cars suffered extensive damage.


Jeff Banks was the eventual winner while Greg Parsons was second and Drew Bagwell third.  Tim McRae was fourth and Ryan Carson was fifth.


Race Results Tri-County Motor Speedway - July 15, 2005

Late Model Stock

1.   39   Ricky Bryant

2.   71   Lee Tissot

3.   32   Nick Waycaster

4.   711 Jimmy Doyle

5.   7     Josh Goble

6.   1     Junior Franks

7.   55   John Reynolds.Jr.

8.   95   Eric Green

9.   77   Stan Robinson

10. 35   Alan Scoggins

11. 21   Monty Cox

12. 15   Chuck Suddreth

13. 98   Duane Cochran

Super Stock

1.   21  Monty Cox

2.   15  Chuck Suddreth

3.   64  Marshall Sutton

4.   2    Ricky Brown

5.   47  Russell Goforth

6.   54  Kaleb Pressley

7.   5    Mark Livingston

8.   41  Brian Stahl

9.   7    Scott Franklin

10. 82  Steve Parris

11. 22  Whistle Burrows

12. 03  Kevin Eby

13. 34  Jamey Mitchum

14. 33  John Rinehimer

Street Stock

1.   33  Gary Deitz

2.   43  Jesse Lefevers

3.   64  Kevin Townsend

4.   34  Jamey Mitchum

5.   88  Josh Burchette

6.   03  Kevin Eby

7.     4  Ernie Harris   

8.   75  Kevin Hensley

9.   24  Michael Hatton

10.   0  David Manis

Mini Stock

1.   16  Randy Freeze

2.   24  A.J. Sanders

3.   18  T.J. Canipe

4.   48  Doug Setzer

5.   0    Greg Butcher

6.   1    Dale Barneycastle

7.   11  Tim Canipe

8.   84  Horace Griffin

9.   49  Arnold Propst

10. 71  Archie Sanders

11. 9    Chuck Wall

12. 14  Shorty York, Jr.

13. 38  Rodney Poston

14. 0    Greg Butcher

15. 09  Randy Canipe

16. 51  Chris Huffman

17. 00  Hank Hefner

18. 61  Scott Whittington

19. 0    Jason Southard  


Fast and Furious

1.   41  Chad Miller

2.   44  Ben Smith

3.   17  Michael Troy

4.   83  David Hasson

5.   16  Jeff Poston

6.   98  Stephen Clippard

7.   8    Jody Church


Tri-County Mini Series

1.  32  Jeff Banks

2.  1    Greg Parsons

3.  7    Drew Bagwell

4.  3    Tim McRae

5.  24  Ryan Carson

6.  5    Tony Taylor

7.  00  Rob Wilson

8.  10  Matt Sizemore   




Current Point Standings



Attention Racers:

Effective Immediately

Tri-County Motor Speedway is available for testing and/or special events.

Interested parties or series please contact Mickey @ 704.929.6666  


Tri-County Motor Speedway

4405 Hickory Nut Ridge Road

Hudson, North Carolina 28638

Office:  828-726-6600

Fax:  828-726-0800