Monday, December 08, 2008

Welcome to 

Tri-County Motor Speedway

Hudson, North Carolina


Located in Western North Carolina, Tri-County Motor Speedway is a 4/10 mile banked asphalt track racing weekly on Friday night as it has for most of it's existence.  A NASCAR Home Track facility, TCMS features Late Models as it's premier division and has been a proving ground for many of today's rising talents.

Come check out the action at TCMS, 5 minutes from I-40 in Hudson, NC.



Like us on our 

Facebook Page


The Official Host Hotel of TCMS

Quality Inn in Hickory, North Carolina is the official hotel of Tri-County Motor Speedway. The hotel is next to the Hickory Regional Airport on Highway 321. The drive time to Tri-County Motor Speedway is 20 minutes.  Please contact Wendi Boyd (Director of Sales) at (828)431-2100 for the special Tri-County Motor Speedway rate.



Tissott Sprints to the Checkers

By Pat Simmons

Hudson, NC (June 17, 2005)---Lee Tissott outdistanced the field to win the 50-lap Late Model feature at Tri-County Motor Speedway Friday night, while Kevin Eby was the surprised winner in the 50-lap Street Stock race.


Josh Goble set the fast time in qualifying and the roll of the dice sent him to the sixth starting spot with Junior Franks and Jimmy Doyle on the front row.  Tissott started third.


Franks was quick to jump ahead at the green, but Doyle was having none of that and took the point on lap two.  Doyle would hold the top spot for the first half of the race.


The first caution came out on lap six for a spin by Stan Robinson, then on lap 14 Bill Cassavaugh, Bobby Decola and John Reynolds tangled in turn 2.  On the restart Josh Goble, Cassavaugh, Franks, Rock Harris, Donnie Buckner and Jonathon Fleming were all caught up in a melee in turn four.  Cassavaugh, Fleming and Buckner were finished for the night.


Four laps later on lap 18, Franks and Roger Powell were headed in the wrong direction in turn one and that was the end of Franks’ night.


Just before the halfway point Ti ssott came up to challenge the leader, Doyle, who is also Tissott’s car owner.  Tissott made the pass and after lap 24 never looked back while the battle continued behind him.


Rock Harris was on the move to try and challenge Tissott, but spent time getting by Doyle and Powell and by that time Tissott had an advantage.  Harris began to reel Tissott in, but ran out of time and would finish second for the second week in a row.


Jason Grant posted a strong third, while Jacky Workman was third.  Goble came back after having to go to the rear for fifth.  Jimmy Doyle was sixth, Bobby Decola seventh, Powell eighth, John Reynolds ninth and Kenny Campbell was tenth.


In the Super Stock 30-lapper Scott Franklin had an emotional celebration in victory lane after taking his first win of the season.  Franklin started third in the event and was able to make it to the point by the end of the first lap.  While cars were shuffling for position behind him, he was able to take advantage and open up the lead to a comfortable margin.


Monty Cox had to work traffic and was unable to gain enough momentum to catch Franklin and the lack of cautions kept the field from being bunched up.  The only caution of the race was on the start, when Larry Rice lost a wheel.  Cox came home second, with Marshall Sutton third, Mark Livingston fourth and Brian Stahl was fifth.


In the 50-lap Street Stock feature, there were bumps and bangs, hot tempers and a surprise winner.


Kevin Eby was not sure how he ended up celebrating in victory lane.  He was more surprised than anyone he was first across the line.


Phillip York started on the front row with David Smith after qualifying.  Eby was fastest but was inverted to seventh and had his work cut out for him.


Smith was the early leader, but on lap l3 Bobby Sutton took the point while Eby and Jesse LeFevers waged war for almost ten laps racing side-by-side.  LeFevers won the battle and set his sights on Sutton., but while Sutton and LeFevers were at  going at it, Eby slipped by for the lead.  After some rubbing and racing Sutton spun on the front stretch and waited for Le Fevers to come back around under caution and took him to the wall.  LeFevers then got out and was a mission to settle the score and was stopped by track officials and law enforcement.  Sutton was loaded up and left the speedway.


With LeFevers and Sutton out of the way Eby sailed on to win with Gary Ledbetter in second, Josh Burchette third, Ernie Harris fourth and York was fifth.


Michael Wells made his first trip to Tri-County worth the trouble by taking the win in the Mini Stock feature.  Hank Hefner was second with Randy Canipe third, A.J. Sanders fourth and Doug Setzer fifth.


Brad Ballard picked up his second Fast and Furious win in a row.  He crossed the line ahead of Jeff Wagoner in second, V.L. Richardson in third, David Hasson in fourth and Adam Hatton in fifth.


Scott Hunter was the victorious in the best field of Tri-County Minis so far this season.  Tony Taylor was second, Ryan Carson third, Bill Rector fourth and Jason Edmonds was in fifth.



Race Results Tri-County Motor Speedway - June 17, 2005

Late Model Stock

1.    71    Lee Tissott

2.    16    Rock Harris

3.    8      Jason Grant

4.    00    Jacky Workman

5.    7     Josh Goble

6.    71   Jimmy Doyle

7.    49   Bobby Decola

8.    01   Roger Powell

9.    55   John Reynolds, Jr.

10.  41   Kenny Campbell

11.  70   Toby Hopkins

12.  77   Stan Robinson

13.  1     Junior Franks

14.  21   Bill Cassavaugh

15.  11   Donnie Buckner

16.  6    Jonathon Fleming

Super Stock

1.   7     Scott Franklin

2.   21   Monty Cox

3.   64   Marshall Sutton

4.   5     Mark Livingston

5.   41   Brian Stahl

6.   54   Kaleb Pressley

7.   74   Jared Broadbent

8.   22   Whistle Burrows

9.   22x Larry Rice

Street Stock

1.   03   Kevin Eby

2.   32   Gary Ledbetter

3.   88   Josh Burchette

4.   4     Ernie Harris

5.   25   Phillip York

6.   34   Jamey Mitchum

7.   40   David Smith

8.   41   Jim Ledden

9.   24   Mike Hatton

10.   0   Scotty Crocker

11.  43   Jesse LeFevers

12.  64   Bobby Sutton

13.  16   Jonathon Smith

14.  1     David Manis

15.  75   Kevin Hensley  

Mini Stock

1.   1     Mike Wells

2.   00   Hank Hefner

3.   09   Randy Canipe

4.   19   A.J. Sanders

5.   48   Doug Setzer

6.   72   Jason Cochran

7.   84   Horace Griffin

8.   85   Tony Franklin

9.   27   Tyler Church

10.  49   Arnold Propst  


Fast and Furious

1.    5    Brad Ballard

2.   26   Jeff Wagoner

3.   2    VL Richardson




Current Point Standings



Attention Racers:

Effective Immediately

Tri-County Motor Speedway is available for testing and/or special events.

Interested parties or series please contact Mickey @ 704.929.6666  


Tri-County Motor Speedway

4405 Hickory Nut Ridge Road

Hudson, North Carolina 28638

Office:  828-726-6600

Fax:  828-726-0800