Monday, December 08, 2008

Welcome to 

Tri-County Motor Speedway

Hudson, North Carolina


Located in Western North Carolina, Tri-County Motor Speedway is a 4/10 mile banked asphalt track racing weekly on Friday night as it has for most of it's existence.  A NASCAR Home Track facility, TCMS features Late Models as it's premier division and has been a proving ground for many of today's rising talents.

Come check out the action at TCMS, 5 minutes from I-40 in Hudson, NC.



Like us on our 

Facebook Page


The Official Host Hotel of TCMS

Quality Inn in Hickory, North Carolina is the official hotel of Tri-County Motor Speedway. The hotel is next to the Hickory Regional Airport on Highway 321. The drive time to Tri-County Motor Speedway is 20 minutes.  Please contact Wendi Boyd (Director of Sales) at (828)431-2100 for the special Tri-County Motor Speedway rate.



Goble Claims Tri-County Win By Inches

By Pat Simmons

Hudson, NC (June 11, 2005) --- What a show!  Josh Goble and Rock Harris spent 25 laps battling for the lead in Tri-County Motor Speedway’s 50-lap Late Model event. Racing the way it should be. Fans on their feet for the entire last half of the race, two drivers battling side-by-side lap after lap and the best part, they never touched.


The race started after Harris, the fastest qualifier, was inverted back to sixth and Goble started on the front row outside of Lee Tissot.


Tissot was on the point for the first half of the event and Goble patiently waited in second for the right time to make a move to the lead.  As Harris came on strong, Goble knew it was time to make his move and motored past Tissot on lap 26 to take the lead. Harris followed suit and moved into second, but Harris had his sights set on the lead and the battle began.  Harris, the current reigning and three time champion was careful in his moves with the G&G Motorsports Ford, while Goble, a high school English teacher, was also on guard in his Littlejohn Cycle Chevrolet.  At any time in those last laps either driver could have taken the other out. Experience and level heads prevailed and the fans went wild.  Goble held off Harris for his first win of the season and Harris went home second, but definitely not a loser.


While Goble and Harris were the crossing the line just mere inches apart at the checkered flag, Tissott followed in third, with Nick Waycaster posting a strong fourth.  Jacky Workman was fifth, Roger Powell sixth, Junior Franks seventh and Jason Grant eighth. Bobby Decola earned ninth in his first visit to the speedway, while Eric Green was tenth.


Marshall Sutton was celebrated his second Super Stock win of the season by holding off Ricky Brown for the win after taking the lead on lap seven.


Jared Broadbent started on the pole, but Brown got the jump at the drop on the green.  The first caution came out on the first lap as Brian Stahl found himself facing the wrong direction in turn four.  Stahl was lucky as everyone got by him without contact.


The field restarted double file, and once again, Brown was fastest on the start.  Sutton made his way to the front to challenge Brown and after getting the lead was able to hold off Brown for the win.  Brown ran his best race of the season and proved he is another contender for a spot in victory lane.


Rookie Kaleb Pressley was third after being involved in a crash with Whistle Burrows on lap 22.  Mark Livingston was fourth, and Russell Goforth was fifth.  Monty Cox rode his ill handling race car to sixth, with Stahl seventh.  Jon Waterhouse was eighth after crashing hard in turn two at the final flag.  Burrows was ninth and Scott Franklin tenth.


The Hudson Superette Street Stocks also put on a whale of a show as Josh Burchette held off Bobby Sutton to take his second win of the season.

Mike Hatton and Jim Ledden started on the front row, while Burchette was sixth and Sutton started from tenth.  David Manis was quick to get to the front but on the start the 03 of Kevin Eby lost a wheel for the first caution.  On the restart George Anen, Jr. drove his racer to the front and was able to hold the lead for a bit, but Burchette poured it on lap six to make his move.


With Burchette taking the victory and Sutton second, Ernie Harris was third, Anen fourth and Manis was fifth.


The Mini Stock feature went to Doug Setzer after he had an early spin and had to come back from the rear.  Setzer was methodic about picking off cars on his way to the front and on lap five came up to challenge teammate Arnold Propst for the lead.  Setzer and Propst came home first and second with Tony Franklin bringing his new Mustang across the line in third.  Jason Cochran was fourth and Hank Hefner was fifth.


With the Fast and Furious having it’s best field of cars so far this season, Brad Ballard got to victory lane in his first trip to the speedway.  Jody Church did the same thing last week. The newcomers have come to race and that they did.  Church tried to make it two in a row, but Ballard was able to muscle past on lap five after spinning on the second lap.  Gary Rice was second, David Hasson third, Church was fourth and Matthew Barker was fifth.


Jeff Banks picked up his third win of the season in the Tri-County Minis feature, while Trevor Bayne held off Jake Crum to take the Allison Legacy win.


Next Friday night TCMS will host racing in all regular divisions and the Hudson Superette Street Stocks will take to the track for 50-laps of racing.


Race Results Tri-County Motor Speedway - June 10, 2005

Late Model Stock

1.       Josh Goble

2.       Rock Harris

3.       Lee Tissott

4.       Nick Waycaster

5.       Jacky Workman

6.       Roger Powell

7.       Junior Franks

8.       Jason Grant

9.       Bobby Decola

10.   Eric Green

11.   Jonathon Fleming

12.   Donnie Buckner

13.   Jackie Buckner

14.   Stan Robinson

15.   Toby Hopkins

16.   Jimmy Doyle

17.   Dennis Gallion

18.   John Reynolds, Jr.

Super Stock

1.       Marshall Sutton

2.       Ricky Brown

3.       Kaleb Pressley

4.       Mark Livingston

5.       Russell Goforth

6.       Monty Cox

7.       Brian Stahl

8.       Jon Waterhouse

9.       Whistle Burrows

10.   Scott Franklin

11.   Jared Broadbent

Street Stock

1.       Josh Burchette

2.       Bobby Sutton

3.       Ernie Harris

4.       George Anen, Jr.

5.       David Manis

6.       Jonathon Smith

7.       Mike Hatton

8.       Jody Mitchum

9.       Jesse Philyaw

10.   David Smith

11.   Phillip York

12.   Sonny Leatherwood

13.   Jim Ledden

14.   Barney Arnette

15.   Roy Selby

16.   Kevin Eby  


Mini Stock

1.       Doug Setzer

2.       Arnold Propst

3.       Tony Franklin

4.       Jason Cochran

5.       Hank Hefner

6.       Chris Huffman

7.       Scott Whittington

8.       Randy Canipe  

Fast and Furious

1.       Brad Ballard

2.       Gary Rice

3.       David Hasson

4.       Jody Church

5.       Matthew Barker

6.       Jeff Poston

7.       Stephen Clippard

8.       Kenny Watts

9.       V.L. Richardson

10.   Ronald McNeill

11.   Brandon Ballard  

Tri-County Minis

       1.   Jeff Banks


Allison Legacy Series

1.       Trevor Bayne

2.       Jake Crum  





Current Point Standings



Attention Racers:

Effective Immediately

Tri-County Motor Speedway is available for testing and/or special events.

Interested parties or series please contact Mickey @ 704.929.6666  


Tri-County Motor Speedway

4405 Hickory Nut Ridge Road

Hudson, North Carolina 28638

Office:  828-726-6600

Fax:  828-726-0800