Monday, December 08, 2008

Welcome to 

Tri-County Motor Speedway

Hudson, North Carolina


Located in Western North Carolina, Tri-County Motor Speedway is a 4/10 mile banked asphalt track racing weekly on Friday night as it has for most of it's existence.  A NASCAR Home Track facility, TCMS features Late Models as it's premier division and has been a proving ground for many of today's rising talents.

Come check out the action at TCMS, 5 minutes from I-40 in Hudson, NC.



Like us on our 

Facebook Page


The Official Host Hotel of TCMS

Quality Inn in Hickory, North Carolina is the official hotel of Tri-County Motor Speedway. The hotel is next to the Hickory Regional Airport on Highway 321. The drive time to Tri-County Motor Speedway is 20 minutes.  Please contact Wendi Boyd (Director of Sales) at (828)431-2100 for the special Tri-County Motor Speedway rate.



Wood Splinters Competition - Nails First LM Win

Hudson, NC (August 20, 2004) - Kevin Wood recently broke into the Late Model ranks after shedding his rookie stripes in the INEX Legends Series. Traveling to Tri-County Motor Speedway weekly to drive a Gary Lambert owned racer, Wood has lived true to his name, by collecting his first win Friday night.  A third generation racer, Keven is the son of Len Wood and grandson of Glen Wood of Stuart, Va.  Any one interested in racing will recognize the name of the Wood Brothers.  They have fielded cars for the best of the best in Winston Cup and Nextel Cup competition.  Currently Ricky Rudd pilots the number 21 Ford.  He's keeping the seat warm for Keven.


Wood grabbed the pole in qualifying and was able to put his Ford on the point, and although he had to hold off teammate Rock Harris for a few laps, he sailed on to the win after leading the entire 50-lap feature.  On lap 37 Harris lost an engine and crashed into the third turn wall. This made way for Nick Waycaster, who claimed second.  Ray Short was third, Josh Goble fourth, and Jacky Workman fifth.  John Reynolds, Jr. crossed the stripe in sixth, Brian Pedrick in seventh and Bill Cassavaugh eighth.  Kyle Mansch was ninth and Scott Gilbert rounded out the top ten in the 19 car field.


In Super Sport action, Mark Livingston picked up another win after passing  Kevin Dill with only two laps to go.  Dill was second with Monty Cox third, Marshall Sutton fourth and Eric Green fifth.  Donnie Buckner was sixth, Jon Waterhouse seventh, Jared Broadbent eighth, Trevor Webb ninth and Johnny Rinehimer tenth.


Caldwell County's own Josh Burchette, a Hibriten High School student, picked up his first Street Stock win after battling with classmate, Jesse LeFevers, in the beginning of the race.  He then had to deal with Kevin Eby and was able to keep his lead and earn his first trophy.  Eby collected second with Marshall Sutton third, David Smith fourth and LeFevers was fifth.


Jon Setzer picked up his first win in the Mini Stock ranks with only 3 laps remaining after Randy Canipe lost a clutch.  Canipe had led from the drop of the green, while Setzer had held second.  Scott Whittington was second, Rob Lewis third, Tyler Church fourth and Robert Trivette fifth.


In Fast and Furious action Worley Robbins picked up another win with Jon Ebeling second,  Stephen Clippard third, David Hasson fourth and Richard Watts fifth.


The Allison Legacy Series was on hand with Mark Howard collecting another win, but not before the race was halted for a large German Shepherd on the track.  On lap 43 the dog got onto the track and was running facing traffic when the caution came out and cars were slowed to a crawl while track personnel, pit crew members attempted to catch the terrified canine.  After he was corralled in the tire compound for the remainder of the event, he was sent home after racing action ended for the evening.  With Howard taking the win,  Trevor Bayne was second, Derek Lee third, Dustin Bennett fourth and Scott Lail fifth.


TCMS will be off on Friday Aug. 27th and racing will resume on September 3rd with the season finale.


**Tim Ford contributed to this story.


Tri-County Motor Speedway Race Results for August 20, 2004

Late Model
1  Keven Wood
2  Nick Waycaster
3  Ray Short
4  Josh Goble
5  Jackie Workman
6  John Reynolds
7  Brian Pedrick
8  Bill Cassavaugh
9  Kyle Mansch
10  Scott Gilbert
11  Kenny Sigmon
12  Jay Gerst
13  Jeff Hagaman
14  Ronnie Davidson
15  Rock Harris
16  Brian Huffman
17  Nathan Dillinger
18  Donnie Carlton
19  Jonathan Jennings
Super Sport
1  Mark Livingston
2  Kevin Dill
3  Monty Cox
4  Marshall Sutton
5  Eric Green
6  Donnie Buckner
7  Jon Waterhouse
8  Jared Broadbent
9  Trevor Weldon
10  John Rinehimer
11  Brian Stahl


Street Stock
1  Josh Burchette
2  Kevin Eby
3  Marshall Sutton
4  David Smith
5  Jesse LeFevers
6  Jeff Sparks
7  Jamey Mitcham
8  Donald Little
9  David Manis
10  Terrance Tucker
11  Gary Deitz
12  Mike Hatton
13  Mike Newton
14  Jody Mitcham
15  Jonathan Smith
Mini Stock
1  Jon Setzer
2  Scott Whittington
3  Rob Lewis
4  Tyler Chuch
5  Robert Trivette
6  Stepeh Wilson
7  Jason Cochran
8  Randy Canipe
Fast & Furious
1  Worley Robbins
2  Jon Ebeling
3  Stephen Clippard
4  David Hasson
5  Richard Watts
6  Adam Hatton


Allison Legacy
1  Mark Howard
2  Trevor Bayne
3  Derek Lee
4  Dustin Bennett
5  Scott Lail
6  Casey Holt
7  Jonathan Kornegay
8  Mike Hampton
9  Michael Cooper
10  Nicholas Pope
11  Brad Griffin
12  Cody Dusty
13  Zeke Shell
14  Jimmy Smith
15  Jonathan Stone
16  Darren Brown
17  Adam Taylor
18  Jordan Napier



Current Point Standings



Attention Racers:

Effective Immediately

Tri-County Motor Speedway is available for testing and/or special events.

Interested parties or series please contact Mickey @ 704.929.6666  


Tri-County Motor Speedway

4405 Hickory Nut Ridge Road

Hudson, North Carolina 28638

Office:  828-726-6600

Fax:  828-726-0800